Share
Save

Webinar on Update on Malaysia Food Regulations on Food Labeling, Nutrition Labeling and Claims

Singapore, Singapore
06/04/2021
9:00 am – 12:30 pm
GoToWebinar

E-banner - Webinar on NL Malaysia v4A

Registration is Open!

**Group registration for company is available. Kindly contact the Secretariat (ilsisea@ilsisea.org.sg) for more information.

Note: This webinar will be held on April 6, 2021, at 9.00 AM MYT/SGT, GMT +8.00

6.30 AM in New Delhi | 8.00 AM in Jakarta & Bangkok
9.00 AM in Manila & Beijing | 10.00 AM in Seoul & Tokyo
12.00 PM in Sydney | 2.00 PM in Auckland

Registration Instructions:
1. Please click the 'REGISTER HERE' button above and complete the registration form.
2. After registration, an email will be sent to you to make payment.
3. When your payment is verified, you will receive a confirmation email with the GoToWebinar link.
3. Please add the webinar email invitation to your calendar. You will receive 2 email reminders, 1 day and 1 hour before the start of the webinar.

Background

Nutrition information on food labels has been recognised as one of the strategies adopted to assist consumers in adopting healthy dietary practices. Nutrition information would include nutrition labelling (or nutrition information panel – NIP), nutrition and health claims, front-of-pack (FOP) nutrition labelling and ingredient list.

Recognising the potential of such nutrition information to help consumers in making informed food choices in planning healthier diets, the Ministry of Health (MOH) Malaysia amended the Food Regulations 1985 to mandate nutrition labelling for a wide variety of foods and made provisions for nutrition claims in 2003. Such nutrition information on food labels is also of importance to the food industry as food manufacturers would become more aware of the nutritional properties of their products and be encouraged to emphasise these properties to consumers.

In line with global developments and the public health needs of the country, MOH Malaysia gazetted many further amendments to the Food Regulations 1985 in July 2020, in relation to food labelling, nutrition labelling and nutrition and health claims. It is important to have a clear understanding of these amendments as they would have important impact on how all stakeholders perform their duties and businesses. These include food manufacturers, health care professionals, researchers and eventually impact on the consumers.

This regulatory update webinar focuses on these amendments, especially those contained in Food (amendment) No. 4, P.U. (A) 209, dated 21 July 2020.

Objectives:

  • To update stakeholders on amendments No. 4, P.U.(A), July 2020 of the Food Regulations 1985
  • Provide an explanation of these amendments and their interpretation
  • Discuss the implications/impact on major stakeholders

Organizers

Co-Organizer

Registration

Program

Brief:
Introduction to ILSI SEA Region

Presentation 1:
Review of Malaysia Food Regulations 1985: A Strategic Approach

Ms. Zailina binti Abdul Majid, Deputy Director, Standard and Codex Branch, Food Safety and Quality Division (FSQD), MOH Malaysia

Presentation 2:
Updates on New Amendments of General Food Labeling
Ms. Nur Liyana binti Mohd Nizar, Assistant Director, Standard and Codex Branch, FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Presentation 3:
Updates on New Amendments of Nutrition Labeling and Claims
Ms. Nurul Hidayati binti Mohd Nasir
, Nutritionist, FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Presentation 4:
Guidelines on Food Advertisement
Ms. Maizatul Azlina binti Chee Din
, Nutritionist, FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Q&A

Closing Remarks

Meet the Speakers

Ms. Zailina Photo

Ms. Zailina binti Abdul Majid

Deputy Director, Standard and Codex Branch,
FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Ms. Liyana Photo

Ms. Nur Liyana binti Mohd Nizar

Senior Assistant Director, Standard and Codex Branch, FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Ms. Hidayati Photo

Ms. Nurul Hidayati binti Mohd Nasir

Nutritionist, FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Ms. Maizatul Photo

Ms. Maizatul Azlina binti Chee Din

Nutritionist, FSQD, MOH Malaysia

Contact Us

For any further enquiries regarding the webinar, kindly contact ILSI SEA Region Secretariat at ilsisea@ilsisea.org.sg