Share
Save

ILSI ASIA COVID-19 Webinar Series: Harnessing the Potential of AI in Biomedical Science and Nutrition Research

Singapore , Singapore
16/06/2020
10:00 am – 11:45 am
GoToWebinar

Hero Design (Webinar Series 2)2

Background

In this upcoming webinar, three eminent experts will address the epidemic outbreak and control in China and Korea, the mechanisms of infection, clinical research undertaken for better understanding how this virus differs from past strains, global collaboration and steps taken to develop vaccines, as well as the impact of nutritional status on viral resistance and immune response.

As COVID-19 has accelerated the utilization of medical and digital technology (AI) in tackling the disease in many countries, how this can be better harness to further support research and improvement of health system will be topics to be weaved in and touched on.

Registration

This registration is FREE
You will receive a confirmation email with the GoToWebinar link after registration. Please add the webinar invitation in the email to your calendar. You will receive 2 email reminders, 1 day and 1 hour before the start of the webinar

Note that this webinar will be held on June 16, 2020, at 10.00 AM SGT, GMT +8.00 (7.30 AM in New Delhi, 9.00 AM in Bangkok, 10.00 AM in Beijing, 11.00 AM in Seoul and Tokyo, 12.00 PM in Sydney, 2.00 PM in Auckland).

Recording

The webinar recording is available for viewing HERE

Agenda

Brief:
Introduction to ILSI (ILSI Asia)
- Mrs. Boon Yee Yeong, Executive Director, ILSI SEA Region, Singapore

Presentation 1:
China's Response to COVID-19 - Epi, Research and Knowledge Gap

- Dr. Wu Fan, Deputy Dean of Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University, China

Abstract: Dr. Wu Fan will discuss China’s response and experiences of the COVID-19 pandemic situation, how to prepare for the future, and share current research and knowledge gaps.

Presentation 2:
Leveraging PPP Model in COVID-19 Pandemic Response - Digital Tools and Vaccines
- Dr. Anh Wartel, Head of Clinical Development and Regulatory Affairs, International Vaccine Institute (IVI), South Korea

Abstract: Dr. Anh Wartel will provide a brief on the tools and public measures taken in South Korea to stem COVID-19 infection, and responsiveness in the face of COVID-19, discuss the work underway and usual pathway of vaccine development, and share perspective on achieving a vaccine within 12-18 months.

Presentation 3:
Nutrients in the Maintenance and Regulation of Immune System - Advancing Data Analytics in Nutrition Research
- Prof. Jun Kunisawa
, Director of National Institutes of Biomedical Innovation, Health and Nutrition (NIBIOHN), Japan

Abstract: Prof. Jun Kunisawa will discuss the immunological functions of diets (e.g., vitamin and fatty acid) together with the interaction with commensal bacteria in the establishment of immunosurveillance and homeostasis. Also, he will introduce our system of big data analysis of animal and cohort studies for the identification of complex network in the gut and health.

Panel Discussion:
Introduction: Singapore's Update on COVID-19
- Moderator: Dr. Jeremy Lim, Associate Professor, Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health, National University of Singapore

Closing Remarks:
- Mr. Geoffry Smith, President, ILSI SEA Region, Singapore

Meet the Speakers

Prof. Wu20200229-2

Prof. Wu Fan

Deputy Dean of Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University, China

Dr. Wartel

Dr. Anh Wartel

Head of Clinical Development and Regulatory Affairs, International Vaccine Institute (IVI), South Korea

Prof. Kunisawa

Prof. Jun Kunisawa

Director of National Institutes of Biomedical Innovation, Health and Nutrition (NIBIOHN), Japan

Moderator

jeremylim1

Dr. Jeremy Lim

Associate Professor, Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health, National University of Singapore

Contact us

Any question regarding this webinar can be sent to ilsisea@ilsisea.org.sg.