Share
Save

ILSI ASIA COVID-19 Webinar Series: Part 2 – Food System Resilience & Sustainability – Impact, Learnings & the Future Post-COVID-19 Pandemic

Singapore, Singapore
30/07/2020
2:00 pm – 3:45 pm
GoToWebinar

Hero_July 30 Webinar (without reg)

Background

The world has been dealing with the covid-19 crisis over the past 6 months, including the immediate issues of food supply chain resilience, along with the greater risk of hunger and food insecurity. These issues in turn have highlighted the urgency of addressing the pathways to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG), especially SDG 2 to end hunger and malnutrition in all its forms and promote sustainable agriculture by 2030.

A recent report from the High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition (HLPE), the science-policy group of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) has shown the multiple and complex challenges facing food systems, requiring data and actions from numerous parties which will need coordination to achieve optimal results.

Food supply systems are directly operated by private stakeholders, from small scale farmers and food processors, to large agriculture farms and trading, food processing, and distribution. This sector has experienced adverse impact from supply chain disruptions yet shown resilience during this crisis. While playing a vital role in managing the current crisis to meet consumption needs, investing, on-going adaptation and transformation of the sector will be key to future improvement in assuring food quality and security.

This Webinar builds on the foundation of the ILSI Asia COVID-19 Webinar Series: Part 1 - Food System Resilience: Global & Asia Perspectives on May 26, 2020 which considered the immediate effects of COVID-19 pandemic on the food system, initial responses from governments particularly in Asia and global agencies, lessons learnt and outlook for food system resilience, with likely long term impacts. A scientific paper from the meeting has been submitted for publication.

Two eminent speakers and a panel of experts will further explore challenges and opportunities for long term sustainability and resilience of the food system.

Registration

This registration is FREE
You will receive a confirmation email with the GoToWebinar link after registration. Please add the webinar invitation in the email to your calendar. You will receive 2 email reminders, 1 day and 1 hour before the start of the webinar.

Note that this webinar will be held on July 30, 2020, at 2.00 PM SGT, GMT +8.00 (8.00 AM in Central Europe, 11.30 AM in New Delhi, 1.00 PM in Jakarta, 2.00 PM in Beijing, 3.00 PM in Seoul and Tokyo, 4.00 PM in Sydney, 6.00 PM in Auckland).

Agenda

Brief:
Introduction to ILSI (ILSI Asia)
Mrs. Boon Yee Yeong, Executive Director, ILSI SEA Region, Singapore

Presentation 1:
COVID-19 - Lessons Learnt & Food System Transformation Towards Long Term Sustainability, Nutrition Quality and Security
Prof. Martin Cole, Head of School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, University of Adelaide, Australia and Chair of the HLPE Steering Committee on Food Security and Nutrition of the UN Committee on World Food Security
Abstract: Prof. Martin Cole will review and share insights on strategies guidance,  innovative approaches, highlight practices, technologies and drivers of change towards achieving sustainable food systems.

Presentation 2:
COVID-19 - Impact, Challenges & Opportunities for the Agri-food Industry and the Path Towards Sustainable Food Systems
Mr. Axton Salim, Director of PT Indofood Sukses Makmur Tbk, Indonesia and Global Co-Chair of Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Business Advisory Group
Abstract: Mr. Axton Salim will share perspectives on leadership and commitment of private sector in addressing COVID 19 challenges, sustainable food system efforts as well as commitment on nutrition improvement for the global vulnerable populations.

Panel Discussion:
Moderator: Mr. Geoffry Smith, President, ILSI SEA Region, Singapore
Panelists:
Prof. Martin Cole, Head of School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, University of Adelaide, Australia and Chair of the HLPE Steering Committee on Food Security and Nutrition of the UN Committee on World Food Security
Mr. Axton Salim, Director of PT Indofood Sukses Makmur Tbk, Indonesia and Global Co-Chair of Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Business Advisory Group
Prof. Vish Prakash, Professor of Ramaiah University, Bangalore, India
Prof. Shenggen Fan, Chair Professor of China Agriculture University, China and Former Director-General of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
Mr. Melvin Chow, Senior Director of Food Supply Resilience Division and Food Infrastructure Development & Management Divisions, Singapore Food Agency, Singapore

Closing Remarks:
Mr. Geoffry Smith, President, ILSI SEA Region, Singapore

Meet the Speakers and Panelists

Prof. Martin Cole

Head of School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, University of Adelaide, Australia
Chair of the HLPE Steering Committee on Food Security and Nutrition of the UN Committee on World Food Security

Mr. Axton Salim

Director of PT Indofood Sukses Makmur Tbk, Indonesia
Global Co-Chair of Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Business Advisory Group

Mr. Melvin Chow

Senior Director of Food Supply Resilience Division and Food Infrastructure Development & Management Division, Singapore Food Agency, Singapore

Prof. Vish Prakash

Professor of Ramaiah University, Bangalore, India

Prof. Shenggen Fan

Chair Professor of China Agriculture University, China
Former Director-General of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

Mr. Geoffry Smith

President of ILSI SEA Region, Singapore.

Contact us

Any question regarding this webinar can be sent to ilsisea@ilsisea.org.sg.